Vivaldi oboe music
Wendy Marks Woodwind
Tel: 01993 883379
About Wendy.

Wendy Marks Woodwind Tuition, Freeland, Nr Witney, Oxfordshire

Freeland Orchestra

CONCERT REVIEW  - December 2013

Freeland Orchestra - July 2009
The Eynsham Village Hall was almost full for this Concert, given by three different groups of musicians, all under the Baton of Wendy Marks.

The Orchestra was first on stage and played two well-known  classical pieces: Mozart's Magic Flute Overture and the first movement of Schubert's Unfinished Symphony. These are both difficult works and the players did well on most counts: intonation, ensemble and tone quality was generally good although there were occasional rocky rhythmic moments and the dynamic range could have been greater. The Serenade by D Bourgeois was fun and the quirky rhythms - 11/8 and 13/8 - were well controlled. The waltzes by J Strauss were fine and the audience enjoyed joining in the excerpts from The Sound of Music arranged by Wendy Marks. Most importantly, it was good to see the players enjoying themselves. That is what amateur music making is all about!
(Philip Shirtcliff)

Orchestral Programme:

The Magic Flute Overture - W A Mozart

First movement (from Symphony No. 8) - Schubert

Serenade - D Bourgeois

Roses from the South - J Strauss

The Sound of Music Medley - Rodgers arr. Marks

Previous concert

July 2013 review.